LIS 515 Reading List

So, as you know, Internetland, I am a candidate for a Master’s of Library and Information Studies degree from the University of Alberta. My goal for the future is to work in an academic library at a university or college because I like the research aspect of  that setting. I realize that finding my dream job right out of school is rather unlikely. So I thought, just incase I end up in a public library for a while, I would take a course more so geared toward public librarianship. One of the courses I am taking next fall is called Materials for Young Adults – LIs 515, and over the summer we have a reading list to go through and make notes on. So, all the books for this reading list will be reviewed under the catagory of LIS 515 Reading List, just incase you were wondering ;).

This is the list of books I will be reviewing this summer:

  1. Feed by M.T. Anderson
  2. Money Boy by Paul Yee
  3. Little Brother by Cory Doctorow
  4. Chopsticks by Jessica Anthony and Rodrigo Corral
  5. The Arrival by Shaun Tan
  6. Blankets by Craig Thompson
  7. Skim by Marika Tamaki and Jillian Tamaki
  8. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
  9. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  10. The Fault in our Stars by John Green
  11. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
  12. My Most Excellent Year by Steve Kluger
  13. Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler
  14. Among Others by Jo Walton
  15. American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang
  16. Hokey Pokey by Jerry Spinelli
  17. What I Was by Meg Rosoff
  18. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie
  19. Indian Horse by Richard Wagamese
Leave a Reply

