From Pages to Reels

Dan Brown’s ‘Inferno’ Heads to the Big Screen
by Nicholas LaRousse July 18, 2013

As I predicted in my review of Inferno, the book will be adapted for film and made  into a movie set to release in 2015. Tom Hanks will be returning for the role of Professor Robert Langdon, and the script will be written by the screen writer of Angels and Demons, David Koepp. Not too sure how I feel about this because I loved Angels and Demons the book, but absolutely hated the movie with a raw and fiery passion. The book was so fast paced and action packed and interesting, and then the movie just cut out all the good stuff (like Langdon jumping out of a freaking helicopter and using his jacket to slow his velocity so he survives landing in a river!!) and the sense of urgency you get from the book wasn’t there. Maybe Koepp won’t drop the ball, but more than likely he will.

Internetland, what are your thoughts on book-to-movie adaptations? Generally, I like them, but there are a select few that I abhor. These are, as previously mentioned, Angels and Demons, but I also hated the film adaptation of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I love the Lord of the Rings trilogy films (because I haven’t read the books) and I liked The Hunger Games movie. I read The Hunger Games after I saw the movie and I have to say the book is much, MUCH better.

Leave a Reply

