The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo

konmariHello, Internetland! I’m going to be reviewing a non-fiction book today! I actually finished reading this book about a week ago, but my schedule has been crazy lately and have only just had the time to write the review now. The book I’m reviewing is called The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo. I first heard of the “KonMari” method of tidying from a YouTube vlogger I follow called Lovely Lor (if you’re interested in Japanese Lolita Fashion Lovely Lor’s video’s are awesome to watch! Link here). I was intrigued by Lor’s video and did a bit of research on my own about the KonMari method and that’s how I found the book that started it all.

After only a couple of chapters into the book I felt really motivated to get started. I decided to finish reading the book before diving in, however. The thing about the KonMari method and Marie Kondo’s writing style is she makes cleaning and tidying seem like it’s not a chore, but something fun and relaxing. I very rarely read non-fiction books from cover-to-cover. Usually I just scan the chapters looking for pertinent information, however this book is one that I read every single word. This book is incredibly interesting to read. I can’t explain it. It’s just captivating. Marie Kondo’s words are inspirational, and almost poetic. She evokes a sense of calm, and really makes you think about what happiness means.

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up  isn’t just some other ‘how to organize’ book or a ‘how to clean’ book. It’s an in depth look at the KonMari method, which is the art of learning to let go of things that do not spark joy in your life. Marie Kondo is an organization consultant in Japan and her clients have never fallen off the horse, as it were, after taking her course. Kondo talks about her life and how she came up with the her method and she talks about her clients as well. I like that she goes through other methods and tells the reader why those methods don’t work. For example, she talks about her early obsessions with the art of storage and how it isn’t actually de-cluttering, it’s hiding the items you need to get rid of.

I feel like I need to buy a copy of this book for everyone in my life. I know so many people who could benefit from reading this book and really taking the time to sort and tidy their homes, myself included. I borrowed a copy from the library, but I want to eventually get myself a copy to keep because I feel like it will be an excellent reference book in the future.

spark joyI’m itching to try the KonMari method for myself, but as she recommends in the book you need to have the time to fully and thoroughly go through your belongings. I have been crazy busy with work, extra curricular, and side projects lately, so I haven’t had the chance to try the method out. While I wait for the time I am going to read Kondo’s second book Spark Joy: An Illustrated Master Class on the Art of Organizing and Tidying Up. This book goes further in depth to how to do the KonMari method, and I’m really looking forward to reading it!

Leave a Reply

